P waves

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ian

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was reading Garcia's ECG book earlier and in discussing rhythms, he said that the presence of P waves tell you that the rhythm in question has some atrial or supraventricular component. Aren't P waves normal? Does he mean the absence of P waves?

Members don't see this ad.

Granted, I'm no expert, but yes, P-waves are normal. When reading EKG you want to assess where the rhythm is originating from, and P-waves indicate that pace is coming from SA node. No P-waves = no atria contracting = rhythm originating from AV or lower.

Hope that helps.

Thanks, I think I understand it now. Initially I thought it meant that the presence of P waves means the arrhythmia is supraventricular/atrial in nature.

Members don't see this ad :)
It can. If you note the presence of an arrhythmia w/ P-waves, it is SV/atrial in nature. P-wave denotes sinus-rhythm.

P waves don't necessarily mean it's a sinus rhythm. For example, in 3rd degree block you'll have P waves totally dissociated from the ventricular activity.

To your original question, the sentence you quoted is correct. P waves indicate atrial electrical activity. This could mean sinus pacing, or some other ectopic site(s) before the AV junction.

P waves don't necessarily mean it's a sinus rhythm. For example, in 3rd degree block you'll have P waves totally dissociated from the ventricular activity.

To your original question, the sentence you quoted is correct. P waves indicate atrial electrical activity. This could mean sinus pacing, or some other ectopic site(s) before the AV junction.