PA end goal. Where do I go from here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MattC1420

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

A little about myself. I have been working as an EMT in the state of Georgia for about four years now. I have two months left of my paramedic course. When I graduate from my paramedic school I will have an associates degree. Halfway through paramedic school, I decided that I did not want to be in EMS my whole career but that my experience in EMS can be a good stepping stone for higher career opportunities. I decided after much thought that I want to become a physician assistant. It was a tough choice between choosing a nursing school and then going to get my NP but I really just thought to myself about the nursing model and medicine model. I am not sure if I would be happy with using the nursing model my whole career compared to the medicine model. I really enjoy the medicine model. The issue I am running into is my age. I am 25 years old right with an associates degree in two months. I know I need to attain my bachelor's degree prior to applying to a PA school. I do not know many options I have with an associates degree in paramedicine that can go further into attaining a bachelors degree expect Health Service Sciences. This degree is pretty pointless to me and I want to end up getting a bachelors degree that will allow me to fall back on in case I do not get accepted into a PA school.

I was debating getting my nursing through a paramedic to RN bridge program but then I would still only have associates and I would still need to get my BSN prior to applying to PA school. It sounds good but too me it sounds like extra work that may actually slow my progress. I want to get into a PA school before the age of 32.