PA/NP Saturation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pjm9706

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are any of you guys worried about the projected oversupply of PAs? I know pharmacy has this problem, but I'm curious to see what you guys think of this.

Members don't see this ad.

I see something beginning to manifest itself that is concerning.... New grads are having to hustle to get a job when they graduate. It seems to vary by locality and region, but that's a new trend I read about. I'm an NP student studying psyche, and I have yet to hear of any new grad psyche NPs having any problems finding work, and very few problems concerning income. It's unusual to go to a psyche NP forum/group/message board and hear anyone complaining about money or job offers (except maybe asking for guidance on which offer they should choose). But on FNP or PA boards, I see evidence of a tightening job market. On the PA forums it's pretty much mantra to expect to be able to only pick 2 of 3 desires to shoot for as far as desired salary, desired specialty, and desired location. In other words, if you want to make plenty of money, you can then usually only get either the location you want to live and practice in, OR you can get to practice in the spevialty you want to be in...but not both. That's a shame if it's true. But I also notice that experienced PAs and NPs seem to be desirable to hire. Where I am at, a new trend is to have NPs and PAs be the first provider anyone sees when they first arrive to a practice. It can take a while to book a doctor to see you, and by the time tet do, the NP has already packaged everything up like a present to the physician. But I live west of the Mississippi, and it's growing a lot here, and NPs have a tremendous amount of independence.