Pain Mgmt NP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mariajane

Membership Revoked
Removed
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m an outpatient pain mgmt NP. Here’s my experience followed by my unsolicited opinion. I’m sorry for intruding on your MD forum but thought it could be a useful perspective. Please kindly disregard if it isn’t.

I graduated from high school with 4.0. Wanted to go to medical school since forever but also wanted a normal lifestyle, to be a mostly-stay-at-home mom, etc. So I went to nursing school...again 4.0. Then straight into a fairly prestigious university for my NP...4.0...I was shocked to discover that I had to study more for an undergrad degree than for the master’s. Worked in beside nursing for 3 yrs after graduation to get hospital experience.Then hired by hospitalist group at same hospital (large teaching hospital). As a perfectionist I knew I was unprepared for the job at hand....I was wholly unprepared. I worked alongside numerous midlevels not understanding how they could have job satisfaction knowing they, too, didn’t have/know 25-50% of what it takes to do the complex work of hospitalist medicine effectively and independently. The MDs knew it, I knew it, yet they didn’t shut down the program. My realization was that 1) I regretted getting this education. 2). I need to utilize it better. I have since moved to an outpatient subspecialty... pain mgmt. Truthfully, I am a smart person and was just as intelligent as previous acquaintances who went on to pursue medicine as MDs. Because of this, I am keenly aware of what I do and do not know. I honestly do really strong work in my current setting, seeing follow ups and new consults. I study continually and take great pleasure in the diagnostic aspect of my job - I enjoy learning about zebras to keep them in the back of my mind - even if 90% of it is straightforward LBP... understanding that a solid diagnosis allows the pain int