Quantcast

Paramedic School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
G

glendine13

Members don't see this ad.
I am currently a Pre-Med student working towards dual majors in Biochem and Physics, and I've been an EMT for more than 3 years. Recently I found a Paramedic class that meets in the evenings after the rest of my college classes are done (2 nights classes, 2 nights clinical per week, 3 hours a night each), and it goes on for 1 year. Being good academically, EMS classes have never been hard for me, so I don't think it would be that taxing on my time outside of class getting in the way of my undergrad studies. It would be great experience, I'de be able to learn a lot (starting IVs, having a good list of drugs at my disposal for patients, and being able to do some invasive procedures like intubate and put in chest tubes, etc) and it would be another level of exposure prior to medical school. It would also be a pretty good part-time job through the rest of undergrad and med school. Anyone have any thoughts? :)

stoleyerscrubz

Registered User and Stuff
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Will you be able to study for the MCAT considering undergrad and EMT school?

How long will you be able to use your EMT paramedic license before graduating?

Medicfletch

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
You also have to take into account if you will have time to complete you internship to obtain your license. This alone is very time consuming depending on the system you work in. Yes is will give you an introduction to those skills, but the time to develop them and perfect them comes with years of patient encounters.

If you want to take it because you love EMS, than I would say go for it. But if you're taking it as an app. booster, then you might try something else.