Parental contribution and FAFSA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Adapt

2K Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been accepted to some medical schools that require you to add your parental contribution and some that don't require it. My question is, can I submit my FAFSA without my parental info to the school that doesn't require it, and then edit it adding my parental information to the one that does later on?

Members don't see this ad.

Slickness,
I have this same question. CCOM considers parental information for some of the aid. However, I'll be an independent student for
the FAFSA. I'm totally new to financial aid stuff.

I hope someone can answer this question for us.

Lari

Contact the financial aid office and ask specifically what the school requires. You can start by completing the FAFSA without the parental information and change it later if required. All medical students are considered 'independent' in terms of the federal Stafford loan program.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey mpp,
I have one more question. I'm a senior year this year and didn't work. So I didn't get a tax return form or didn't have an expected income. Therefore, if I don't put my parental information, my FAFSA will be pretty much blank and my expected family contribution would propably be zero. Do you know how schools view that?

You should include the parental information on the FAFSA if you have ANY schools that require it on the FAFSA. For those schools that DO NOT require it on the FAFSA, it won't matter because those schools will make you include this information on thier own private financial aid forms. So, whether you include it or not on the FAFSA will not will not matter at all to the schools that say it is optional. But for those who require it on the FAFSA, you have to do it.

Judd