Pathologists?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dochoov

Intercalating Death Disk
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a senior undergrad and I'm starting to wonder what I might be interested in/good at. I have several questions that might possibly help me on my way. I'm going to shadow a pathologist relatively soon to see what's up with the profession, but I think information coming from the perspective of medical students might very helpful to me at this time.

What kind of student were you as an undergrad? What drove you to chose pathology? What kind of personality characteristics are typical/will lead to success for pathologists? What kind of intellectual skills are useful/rewarded for a pathologist?

I don't care what sub-field of pathology people are going into. I want any (anything that may be important that I did not include in my questions) and all information that I can get.

Members don't see this ad.

You'll get more answers here, but you'll get better answers on their specialty forum.

I wouldn't marry yourself to a specialty this early. You will change your mind. Typically, path is a specialty that people change their minds on both toward and away from after they start med school. That said...

People choose path for the lifestyle, relative liability, and nature of the work. A prelim year of medicine is not required unlike rads. A class of ~150 in my experience has fewer than 5 who go into it (usually 1 or 2). Salary is moderate, and matching is not hard. If you want to be a pathologist, chances are quite good that you will become one if you graduate. If you go to a US med school, chances are good that you will get to choose where you want to do your residency.

As far as the intellectual skills/abilities go, probably the same as every other kind of doctor. All med students take the same M1-M3 classes and boards.