Pathology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

InsulinJunkie93

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergrad and have been investigating different medical specialties. I came across pathology and it has interested me. I want to be a doctor that interacts with patients, but I also love the lab setting. I have a passion for learning, especially medicine, but I also want to have a great family life. I guess my questions are, what kind of pathologists interact most with patients? How much do they interact with patients? Do these types of pathologists have a pretty consistent schedule that would be good for raising a family?

Members don't see this ad.

I would suggest doing a search for lifestyles and subspecialties in the pathology section. You probably won't receive too many answers on this subject in the pre-allo section.

I am currently an undergrad and have been investigating different medical specialties. I came across pathology and it has interested me. I want to be a doctor that interacts with patients, but I also love the lab setting. I have a passion for learning, especially medicine, but I also want to have a great family life. I guess my questions are, what kind of pathologists interact most with patients? How much do they interact with patients? Do these types of pathologists have a pretty consistent schedule that would be good for raising a family?

Transfusion medicine (blood bankers) has the most interaction, dealing with inpatients who have transfusion-related issues, and doing plasmapheresis if the hospital in question offers that service. I have seen some with awesome schedules (academic center with residents to take call) and others with atrocious schedules. The overall job market for this field sucks hard.