Pay off loans ASAP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StallionRx

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it wise to pay back your student loans ASAP? I graduated last year and was able to deduct some interest on my income tax, but only because I made <75k (5 months on Pharmacist pay) This year ill be well over that and wont qualify for the deduction. I have about high 20s of student loans left at an interest rate of around 6% and cant see any reason why I shouldnt be extremely aggressive and bang them out inside of the next few months.

I know some people suggest investing money for the return of beating the interest rate, but I already have a good percentage of money in the stock market and feel like putting any more money in there would be risky.

Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Some loans have a penalty fee if you pay them off early, it's a matter of what's in the fine print.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's hardly ever wise to pay off loans ASAP. There's good debt and then there's bad debt as (Suzie Orman would say). Educational loans are GOOD DEBT, buying a few Mercedes on the day you graduate would be BAD DEBT. Good debt's fine- just pay it off over time. If it's that low, pay it off a few hundred a month. No big deal. Why give them a big chunk of change right away? It's still your loan. Now if this were a credit card, I'd say pay ASAP!

Right now, it is better to pay off debt quickly because interest rates are low. You're losing money by keeping the loan alive.

I you are not getting more than 6% on your investments, you are better paying them off early as long as there is no penalty.

Sorry about hijacking the thread, but what if I have >$100,000 in private loans which is around 6.5-7% interest and another $50,000 in stafford loan? Would it be better to pay it off fast to prevent the interest accumulation?