PDA hardware & pharmacy software?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sandy tran

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time to need a PDA for my pharmacy rotation next year. I heard something about pocket PC. So which hardware is the best choice & what brand? Also, what pharmacy software is the best?
Please please help if any...
thanks a lot:)

Members don't see this ad.

not sure on your specific needs..... you should be able to load this on the ipod touch as well.

[youtube]http://youtube.com/watch?v=6P_fDSvLECM[/youtube]

Hi all,

This is my first time to need a PDA for my pharmacy rotation next year. I heard something about pocket PC. So which hardware is the best choice & what brand? Also, what pharmacy software is the best?
Please please help if any...
thanks a lot:)

First off, which software are you considering? LexiComp sounds like a really good resource and I've seen a lot of pharm students using it. From what the guy from LexiComp said that came to our school, you can use either pocket pc, blackberry or palm. They don't have the application to work on the iPhone yet, but they are working on it. I personally prefer palm to pocket pc because I have found it easier to deal with. You can pick up a tungsten e2 on ebay for a pretty reasonable price and that's all you would need. If you are one that has to have your cell with you, I would suggest getting a treo (or some other smart phone), they have versions that use both pocket pc and palm depending on your carrier. I tried using two devices and it got frustrating b/c I would forget my palm sometimes and it felt like I was wearing the batman utility belt. Just some food for thought.

PS: I can't remember exactly how it's spelled, but there's another program called either hippocrates or some other greek derived name. It's mainly used by hospital/clinical pharmacists and it also will work well on palm powered devices.