Pediatrics/Anesthesia Combined Residency 2015

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MicroBrewer87

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone else applying to the combined Pediatrics/Anesthesia programs this cycle? Or has anyone received interview offers yet?

Members don't see this ad.

I applied last year and I'm an intern at one of the programs now. There are only about 20 applicants per year, so you may not get many people on here. I interviewed at all of the programs so I can give general advice if you have questions. I can also pm for more specific questions or details about my perspective on individual programs.

I know with an n=~20 it probably varies a lot and is difficult to tell, but can you comment on how competitive these programs are based on your experience? Did you apply for a backup specialty in case things didn't work out? What do these programs look for in candidates (average board scores, research etc..)? What should I be doing as a 3rd year med student if I'm interested in this pathway.

thanks in advance for the help.

I know with an n=~20 it probably varies a lot and is difficult to tell, but can you comment on how competitive these programs are based on your experience? Did you apply for a backup specialty in case things didn't work out? What do these programs look for in candidates (average board scores, research etc..)? What should I be doing as a 3rd year med student if I'm interested in this pathway.

thanks in advance for the help.

You're right, it is pretty hard to know. I know my stats, but I don't know anything about the stats of the other candidates. The most competitive places are probably the Boston program, Stanford and Hopkins. There were a couple of places that didn't fill last year (and I really, really liked two of the programs that didn't fill), so it's probably not as competitive overall as the 20 applicants for 10 spots makes it seem.