Penn

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RNA

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Could anyone comment on their opinions of Penn for AP/CP training? Any specific likes/dislikes from people that are currently there or interviewed there?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
My problem with training at penn: their surg path training time seemed inadequate, and I am not sure if this is true or not, but this was my impression on my interview. They had a limited amount of time on surg path and had a four day schedule. Thus, they only ended up grossing specimens once every four days, and only did 6-8 months of surg path. So they only grossed about 24 days during their residency. That seems suspicious to me. But clearly they produce excellent pathologists!

Plus, one of their residents is really cute. :love:

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a med student at Penn, applying for path residencies this year. First, the CP program at Penn is very very strong. For many programs, CP is an afterthought. There are very few programs which are as strong for CP (like UWashington). I'm not applying for CP - but there seems to be consensus that Penn CP is great.