Pharm Tech Program at Community College or Should I Go Ahead and Begin The BS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Apothecary

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. Kinda new here. :)
I'm a community college pre-pharm student in San Antonio, Texas.

And Here's my question:

Northwest Vista College offers a pharmacy technology certificate that would take me a year to complete. I'd come out of the program having had an internship in a hospital and in a retail setting.
http://www.accd.edu/nvc/areas/pht/PTcertificate.html
Or,
I could go ahead and start working on my BS, most likely at UIW, a potential 3+ years.

Is this pharm tech program, experience, and certification worth it or should I just go on and get my BS in chemistry and maybe volunteer or shadow?

Thanky,
Apothecary

Members don't see this ad.

Apothecary said:
Hi everyone. Kinda new here. :)
I'm a community college pre-pharm student in San Antonio, Texas.

And Here's my question:

Northwest Vista College offers a pharmacy technology certificate that would take me a year to complete. I'd come out of the program having had an internship in a hospital and in a retail setting.
http://www.accd.edu/nvc/areas/pht/PTcertificate.html
Or,
I could go ahead and start working on my BS, most likely at UIW, a potential 3+ years.

Is this pharm tech program, experience, and certification worth it or should I just go on and get my BS in chemistry and maybe volunteer or shadow?

Thanky,
Apothecary

In california you can get a tech license by taking the ptcb test. I don't know how it works in texas but you might want to look into it.

gimpsd said:
In california you can get a tech license by taking the ptcb test. I don't know how it works in texas but you might want to look into it.

In Texas, you also can take ptcb test without attending any school or program. It is a self-study course. Don't waste your money.