Pharmacy Student, transferring to Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gacibula

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I was referred here by a friend who had only good things to say about the forum.

Basically, here's my situation.

Currently, I am a pharmacy student in my 5th/6 year of pharmacy school. My plan is to graduate next May, receive my Pharm D, and turn right around and go into Medical school the following fall.

I graduated with a 3.9 BSPS, and will have between a 3.7 and a 3.8 cumulative after finishing up my Pharm D.

I took the MCAT for kicks after I got my BSPS. I really had no clue what was even on the thing and had 0 preparation for the thing. Managed to get a 21P.

I was kinda disappointed... but was really thrown for a loop when I saw all the passage based questions (annoying).

Needless to say, I am applying to medical school this summer and will have my application in on June 1. I am re-taking my MCAT on Jul 29, and I am currently taking a kaplan live online MCAT prep course.

I've got a lot of extra-curriculars... involvement with Air Force ROTC, office positions in a few pharmacy organizations, Research publications (Annals of Pharmacotherapy), etc.

For now I'm wondering where I stand in terms of competitiveness to med school, and would LOVE any advice anyone can give me regarding my situation/app process.

Thanks so much,
G

Members don't see this ad.