Philosophical Question.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

S. Ahmed

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all:
I am almost addicted to this site. I love to read all the articles, very inspiring for an electrical engineer.

I am honestly curious to know why do you want to go to medical school? I don't know if people are honest when they are asked this question in an interview or application. But since this is sort of anonymous..I thought people might be more open.

would love to know why people want to become a doctor? Is helping people your main driving force?
How important is financial security?

I, personally, want to be a doctor because I want to work with people, help people, especially in the poor/rural areas. As an engineer, I make a decent living and 9-5 work hours, very flexible. So, I care much less about financial gain in medical career.

Anyways..please skip this email if you are bothered by it. But email me if you care to share.

Thanks,
Shahab
[email protected]
[email protected]

Members don't see this ad.

I personally want to be an MD because I want to be able to apply my research. I want to be able to design drugs and other treatments and then literally be able to administer the clinical trials. I don't want to do great animal research, come up with something amazing...and then have to hand over all control to an MD to see it through.

None,

Do MD's do a lot of drug design? I was under the impression they left most rational ligand design to chemists. Heck...unfortunately most of the compounds made today are from combinatorial laboratories. This pushes rational design right out the window in favor of the shotgun approach. If you can design and synthesize compounds in your lab more power to you!

Members don't see this ad :)
Chemistry is a very popular graduate program for MD/PhDs...