Plan B?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Marcy C.

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are there any med students that had a "plan B" if they did not get into medical school (the first time or after a few attempt). Maybe I should not have a plan B, right?

Members don't see this ad.

A lot of people get Masters of Public Health or MSs.

My plan B was to retake the mcats and apply to DO schools the second time around (and to apply early). :wink:

Members don't see this ad :)
You should definitely have a plan B. Make sure you know what you are going to do with your life for a few years if you don't get into medical school.

I worked as a recruiter for tech companies for a year. I wanted to do something completely unrelated to medicine. That year off was the best thing that could have happened to me. It showed me how much I really hated the typical business world and how much I really wanted to become a doctor.

My plan B was Peace Corp--didn't have to use it, but sometimes wish I'd done it anyway.

My plan B was simply to reapply, and maybe take some time off to reflect on my weaknesses. Phew, that didnt happen :D :cool:

My plan B was to look for research tech jobs in cool pharm labs. (yeah I'm a dork) I would've reapplied in the next cycle (almost happened...I didn't get in to med school until the summer)

Lots of people's plan B is to reappy. That was my plan B, which I did have to implement. Remember that there are plenty of qualified applicants each year who don't get in, for whatever reason. My class is full of people who applied multiple times (record is 4). I guess how many times you are willing to reapply depends on 1) How much you want this 2)How much effort you are willing to spend (you'll need to do something, like take extra classes or retake MCAT between each cycle) and 3) how much money you are willing to spend.