steph2

5+ Year Member
Nov 8, 2010
Status
Hi all, I am a grad student (PhD) planning on applying to MD. My uGPA is 3.6 and my grad GPA is 3.7 (Both are AMCAS GPAs not the orginal GPAs). But I screwed up a grad school class and got an F because I was dumb enough to take the exam even though I ended up in the ER the night before. I successfully retook the class with a A. Am I screwed because of the F on my transcript? Also do medical schools look at older MCAT scores closely? I took MCAT in 2005 but scored only 23Q but my most recent MCAT is 34P. In other words I am asking what are my chances and how bad did I screw up

Bernoull

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 24, 2007
Ischioanal fossa
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Hi all, I am a grad student (PhD) planning on applying to MD. My uGPA is 3.6 and my grad GPA is 3.7 (Both are AMCAS GPAs not the orginal GPAs). But I screwed up a grad school class and got an F because I was dumb enough to take the exam even though I ended up in the ER the night before. I successfully retook the class with a A. Am I screwed because of the F on my transcript? Also do medical schools look at older MCAT scores closely? I took MCAT in 2005 but scored only 23Q but my most recent MCAT is 34P. In other words I am asking what are my chances and how bad did I screw up

U're fine on both counts, ADCOMs are human and can understand aberrant performance here and there as long as it's not a pattern. Grad gpa doesn't count too much in any case, but the fact that u were sick is not than reasonable explanation for the F.

Pretend ur 23Q never happened, it's too old to be considered.

Gdluck

Sep 28, 2010
TX
Status
Medical Student