Please advise me!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rkschun

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting on SDN after lurking for about a year and a half. I am a nontrad 29 year old, who is finishing his a la carte post bacc at Uni. Did horrible in undergrad, worked for 3 years, decided to try to do dental, did the a la carte post bacc for 3 semesters to finish prereqs. Here are the stats.

uGPA: 2.2
post bacc GPA: 3.7(calc, stats, 2 orgo, 2 chem, 2 bio, 2 physics, a/p)

cGPA (now): 2.5
sGPA: 3.15

cGPA(aacomas using retakes) : 2.9
sGPAaacomas using retakes): 3.3

ECs: a few
Volunteer: 45 hrs
Shadow: only a dentist

So, I wanted to do dental, but with my stats I feel depressed everyday. Looking into DO programs gives me some kind of hope and motivation. I just want to start my career and have a focus where I can see light at the end of the tunnel.

I did very poorly in UG b/c I was lazy and didn't think that college was important. I had F's in fitness walking, lots of W, and just by looking at the transcript it should be known that I didn't give a %$#@. But I do now. I did well in high school, had a 1410 SAT, and AP credits for Spanish, Physics, Calc, and Psychology.

So, I was going to take the DAT this summer, but I feel like I have a better chance applying to DO schools because of their aacomas GPA retake policy. Without it, my cGPA would be stuck forever around 2.5.

So my question to you guys is: "What should I do?"

1) Should I keep taking courses a la carte? I can retake possibly 2 classes from UG to raise my cGPA a few more points, although they aren't premed related. In the mean time I can take higher level bio courses. Should I try to raise my cGPA to >3.0?

2) Should I take the DAT or MCAT? Is it a good idea for me to continue pursuing dentistry? Are my chances ok with DO programs? What about Podiatry or optometry?