Please convince me not to do HPSP.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

majahops

YOU are great.
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I spoke with the financial aid counselor at Boston University the other day, and she told me that it is projected that, if I live VERY modestly, I will be ~$300,000 in debt when I graduate from BU. Most of that debt will of course continue to accrue substantial interest while I am a poor resident, unable to make a sizable dent in it and when I am an attending, chipping slowly away at it for many years.

Enter the HPSP. They will pay 100% of my tuition ($46,000+/yr), my medical insurance (since it's required by BU) and give me $1950/month for living expenses. In return, I will have to do a military residency* and serve in the military for 4-5 years** as an attending. The pay for military residency is considerably higher than for residency "outside," but the pay for an attending "outside" is even more considerably higher than for that of a military attending.

I've considered the following downsides of HPSP, and have still decided it's worth it. If anybody here can think of any other compelling reasons (no jokes, please), would you please share them with me? Thanks so much.

Downsides Considered:

- Have to be in the military and abide by [sometimes ******ed] rules/authority.

- Have to be deployed for > 6 months of my time as an attending.

- Have to compete for far fewer slots in certain specialties (as low as 2 in specialties like neurology, for the entire US).

- Likely have to live in a hick town for a few years.

- Likely have to work at a hick hospital for a few years.

- Will likely see a different clinical population than my "outside" resident/attending counterparts, thereby theoretically giving me a different medical education/experience.

- Will get paid substantially less than my "outside" counterparts during my 4-5 years as an attending.