please help! impact of failing a preclinical course

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

abrokemdphd

Reaction score
Hi!
I'm an MS2 MD-PhD student and I failed my cardio block after submitting a feedback form late which trigged an automatic fail according to our syllabus. I've been having a really rough year navigating end of life care for a family member so I've been a little distracted from school, however I've since worked with my program director and academic success to develop a system that will help me stay on top of deadlines even in times of high stress. I passed the course final on the first attempt, but still failed as the assignment is a part of the professionalism standards. I understand how important professionalism is in medicine, and will do everything I can in the future to prevent something like this from happening again.

I'm just really worried about how this will impact my chances for residency matching. I'm primarily interested in EM and IM, and I'm from NYC so my dream is to end up back there (before this I aspired to be at a place like NY presbyterian, mount sinai, maimodes, kings county, etc. I have about ~5 years until my residency application since I'm doing a PhD, and would appreciate any tips as to how I can recover from this and still land a spot for residency.

Thank you all for your help! Please be honest but nice <3

Update: Since the time of this post my appeal was approved! Wahoo! Thank you all for your help! Leaving this up for anyone who might benefit from this in the future!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Sorry to hear you're going through a tough spot family-wise. That definitely weighs on school/work/life/etc...