Please help me become a pathologist!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

His Fuzziness

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hiya!

First time blogger, long term reader. Shout out to all who post, Yaah and aprogdirector in particular; you are the best resource out there.

So I want to scramble into path and could use your insight.

A little bit about my background. I went to a US Medical School and got superior grades and did Great on all my boards (think Tony the Tiger Great). Good thing too because I lacked any research or extracurricular activities.

In 2nd year, I enjoyed histology finding it a fun challenge. Can't say the same for cadaver dissections thought. Sadly, going into pathology just never really crossed my mind. I guess when I decided to be a doctor, I had the idea of a clinical doctor in mind. I was so wrong (shudder).

I graduated near the top of my class, did a medicine prelim year and then went into a Top Tier Anesthesia program. Even though Anesthesia was fun, it slowly started dawning on me (after a year in the program) that maybe it wasn't the right choice. Being put on probation due to poor non technical skills (situational awareness, multitasking etc) was a big tip off. Although I don't like the way my program handled the situation, I do have to agree with their assessment that anesthesia just isn't the right fit for me.my intelligence and hard work could probably get me by but I would struggle in an intense, helter skelter situation.