Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Please help - Need Honest Advice

Discussion in 'Postbaccalaureate Programs' started by DuckGirl, Apr 23, 2004.

1. DuckGirl

DuckGirl Junior Member

I have been reading SDN posts for about a year now, but have never posted anything ever on the internet...so here I go...

I would like some honest feedback/advice regarding my situation. I graduated from an ivy league university back in '99. I completed about half of my pre-meds there and did poorly in them. Unfortunately, I pretty much did really poorly the first two years of college in all subjects because of a severe bout of depression which eventually required that I take a one-year medical leave. When I got back from the medical leave, I did much, much better. However, because of my dismal grades early on I only graduated with a 2.99 GPA. Very frustrating. I was ignorant about the significance of a GPA when I first got to college since we didn't have GPA's in high school and both my parents never went to college (they barely squeeked by high school) and were happy to just see me "pass" my classes.