Please help- should I pass/fail organic chemistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mountainmama23

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore pre-vet student whose college is all online right now. My school has a weird organic chem curriculum and instead of having orgo 1 and orgo 2 with a lab each, we have the following: orgo 1 without lab (3 credit hours), orgo 2 with lab (4 credit hours), and analytical chem with lab (4 credit hours). For vet schools, since I need 8 credit hours of organic chemistry, I have to take all three.
This semester, I signed up for analytical chem and orgo 1 because analytical lab is a prerequisite for orgo 2 lab (it’s very confusing I know). I was told it was hard to take both at once but doable and I signed up before I knew about covid. A month or so in, after the add drop period, I knew it was too much for me. It was all online and I was failing the exams, so I withdrew from analytical (on my transcript it says withdrawal due to covid or something like that). Now my problem is that I am at high risk of getting a C in orgo 1 even though I dropped the other. I would have to get an 85 on the final to get a B- in the class and I have never gotten that high on a chem exam. My question is whether I should pass fail it and retake it or take my chances. I don’t want to risk a C. I also had a C+ in gen chem 1 and a B- in gen chem 2 so I can’t get another C.