Please Help!!!!!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentaldude8

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For all of you who read this I would greatly appreciate your advice on my situation. I am a 25 yr old white male dental school re-applicant. I applied early (May 18) to twelve schools, interviewed at only one where I am currently on the waitlist. I posted this same thread on the pre-dental forum but thought I should do it here considering that pre med students know the most ( for the most part) about post bacc and SMP programs.

Stats………………….
Cumulative GPA 3.50
BCP 3.44
Science GPA 3.36
DAT:
PAT 16
Quantitative 18
Reading Comp 19
General Chemistry 20
Organic Chemistry 19
Biology 22
AA 20 (for you non dental people AA=academic average, 20=85 percentile)
TS 20 (TS=total science)

Additionally- I have lots of dental experience, research experience, community service, etc.

I don’t want to give up on my dream but I really don’t know what direction I should go! I’ve thought about retaking the DAT but I don’t think I can do better than those scores. I studied full time for two months and won’t have time to do that again now that I work full time. But, what I’m really considering is a Special Masters program or a post-bacc program. I’ve spent countless hours looking into these options and really don’t know what the best option is. Most are flippin expensive, is it worth it to go 30-50k in debt for a masters degree? Would a post-bacc program that is affiliated with a dental or medical school be a better option? Do you have any programs that you would recommend, masters or post-bacc? Any information or advice is appreciated, thank you to everyone who replies!

Members don't see this ad.

It might be the PAT score that's hurting you. I know a lot of dental schools consider PAT to be very important and I've heard that you need it to be > 18.