Please Need some Helps !!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hee8051

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If the only reason you are thinking about applying this cycle is because your parents want you to, then wait a year, especially since it's so late now. That way you can apply nice and early next cycle.

Also, I'm no expert but from what I've heard competitive med schools like to see 10+ on each section. I hate to tell someone with a 35 to retake though, but that verbal is pretty abysmal. If I were you I'd get the opinion of an SDN advisor on that one...

Congrats on your MCAT score.

Yes, you can apply at this time of year and still get an acceptance. You may not get into a school as selective as one you (and your parents) might have hoped for, though. Your research sounds terrific and your clinical experience is above average, but your chances will also rest on your other ECs, your LORs, how well written your Primary Statement is (even more important if English is your second language and you have a lower VS), and your interview skills. If you rush into applying when your application isn't the best it can be, you could be making an expensive mistake.

How much physician shadowing do you have?
What is your leadership experience?
Have you done any teaching, coaching, TAing, or tutoring?
What nonmedical community service have you done?

Are your LORs lined up and ready to go? If not, faculty often take months to deliver a letter you have asked for.

Will you be happy to attend any less-selective med school?

Members don't see this ad :)
explain to your parents that waiting a year will vastly improve the odds that you will matriculate to a school far easier for them to brag to their friends about.