please please help - honest opinions please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medstudentwanab

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a hopeful med student going into my junior year

GPA 3.8
havn't taken my MCAT yet but plan to in January n(have been getting 30-32 on practice tests)
Great health care experience and LOR
research experience
I want to apply next summer ...
but I have a misdemeanor petty larceny conviction on my record. I was only sentenced to a 50 dollar fine due to the judge wanting to knock down the charge, but the state not allowing it... no jail time or probation. This was over a year ago. The incident was not reflective of who I am as a person - it was a wrong time wrong place bad time in my life peer pressure thing. It hasn't/will never happen again.
I don't know how to make it clear that it was not in any mean reflective of the type of person I am.
I'm terrified this will hurt my chances or keep me from getting in all together.

ADVICE!!! PLEASE HELP

Members don't see this ad.

it's hard for me to empathize with a someone with a 3.8 convicted for stealing. just doesn't make sense to me.

anyway, i think you should talk to your pre-med advisor about this or maybe even call medical schools anonymously to see what they think.

from what i read, schools don't care about misdemeanors, but i'm not sure about convictions.

My 3.8 comes from hard work ... the stupid decision I made was the result of me being a scholarship student with no friends in the area - going to school and feeling pressured to fit in. It was one stupid decision that I havn't forgiven myself for. It was nothing giant - but no excuses it was wrong. It was a bad time for me - my father has lost his job, I didn't know what to do. It was 150% the wrong choice. But I can't take it back

Members don't see this ad :)