PM&R Opinion on Physical Therapy Effectiveness

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blob2121

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a student who has recently been accepted to physical therapy school. I have spent a lot of time observing and researching physical therapy. Through this research and observation, I have come to have some reservations about the profession. I was hoping, given your vast experience in the field of rehabilitative medicine, you could give me your opinion on some questions I have about physical therapy. It is my understanding that PMR doctors often work closely with physical therapists. I am hoping I can get an outside opinion as I often find physical therapists to exist in an echo chamber.

My main questions are:

1. Do you believe the majority of physical therapy treatments that you prescribe for you patients are more effective than a placebo treatment?

2. Given the lack of evidence surrounding many physical therapy practices, how do you justify prescribing it for many patients?

As you can probably tell my main concerns focus on the evidence supporting physical therapy. I am having trouble finding a substantial amount of convincing evidence supporting the practices used in the profession. I have even seen practices used which have substantial evidence against them. I have asked physical therapists and most have politely danced around the kernel of my questions. I realize you are not physical therapists, but I would appreciate your insight into the matter.

If there is anything else you would like to know about me or questions you have for me, please feel free to ask.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends on what the physical therapy is for. If its for inpatient rehab following a stroke, TBI, or spinal cord injury I am a huge fan and believer.