Podiatry-> MD/DO????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which would you guys recommend for me??

• MD

Votes: 7 14.9%
  • DO

Votes: 3 6.4%
  • Podiatry

Votes: 26 55.3%
  • None of the above

Votes: 11 23.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Dr Scholls

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm brand new here, so please excuse me if my post is too long. Well, I'll start off with a little background. I am in my 4th year at fairly prestigious CC (as prestigious as a CC can get :oops:), and this is mostly due to having to work A LOT during school. I am transferring next Spring to a local university. For as long as I can remember I have really wanted to be a Podiatrist. I really like feet (nearly a fetish :laugh:), and I think it's a good job. I've been having some doubts lately though. I just wanted to know what you guys think about possibly switching to MD (preferably) or DO. Here are some of my stats:

-3.06 GPA (I think it'd be much higher if I didn't go to a school with such grade deflation! :mad:)
-MCAT: 9BS, 8PS, 7VR, L (I know that the writing is low, but I hear that lots of people have trouble with VR and that the writing doesn't matter much. Will my VR make up for my writing/show that is was just a fluke score?).
-I am a URM student. Not sure if this matters as much as everyone says though. :confused:
-2 months shadowing a podiatrist (4hrs/week)
-1 year volunteering at local hospital
-1 week volunteer trip in third world country working for a podiatrist. VERY hands on experience.