SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Polar Body Question

Discussion in 'PCAT Discussions' started by Farcus, May 17, 2008.

  1. Farcus

    Farcus 10+ Year Member

    Nov 28, 2007
    My Bed
    How many polar body is formed during oogenesis?

    I searched google and it says 3, but I just want to make sure.
    1 from the second meiotic division and 1 from the first meiotic division that then divides again during the second meiotic phase.
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. samfromVA

    samfromVA 5+ Year Member

    Aug 18, 2007
    If I am right, there are 3 polar bodies, and as u have outlined the steps and that is how it should form. Unless nature decided not to, there should be 3.

    This is the process that is outlined by the Kaplan/internet/my own :))):

    After the 1st Menarche (1st mensturation),

    One primary oocyte undergoes Meiosis I forming Secondary oocyte and polar body. This polar body undergoes division again to make the count to 2 polar bodies.

    Secondary oocyte is expelled in ovulation, and after Fertilization in (Remember, Meiosis II only takes place after fertilization by sperm), forms the Mature Ovum and Another polar body.

    So, there I think, these are the 3 polar bodies that u have been confused about.

Share This Page