Possibility of working in the USA---studying in Europe

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Is it easy for International graduates to work in the US?

• Very easy

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Easy

Votes: 1 12.5%
  • Dont waste your time

Votes: 5 62.5%
  • Impossible

Votes: 2 25.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Guyton Killah

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
account deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi Guys. I am a 4th yr medical student in a prestigious European uni. my intention is to study in the US after graduation.

But I m not sure about the procedure. I know, u gotta do USMLEs, which I haven't yet tried. Any International student out there with the same mission? If yes how about if we team up in this process, step by step?

Check out the International Forum and its Europe sub-forum:
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/forumdisplay.php?f=85

On your poll, I'd have answered "Difficult, but possible," however, you didn't have that as an option. I've had contact with a few international medical graduates who did their residencies in the US, and they all said they scored 95+ on the USMLE Step I (n=3, so not a good sample). Getting the correct visa is another issue, if you aren't a US citizen or permanent resident.

Members don't see this ad :)
There's not an option "Difficult but definitely possible" because that's what I will pick. You should post in the residency forum, perhaps you will get more replies there. I think in order for foreign medical graduates to practice in the US, you have to score very well on USMLE Step I and Step II, get certified by the ECFMG (search google for this), and get some kind of US clinical experience to apply for US residency. It's tough but definitely possible since almost half of primary care positions are filled by foreign medical graduates. Good luck.