post-bac and work load

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DCH

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
:oops: Hi Everyone!
Your input with the forums has been extremely helpful for me.
I graduated from college 9 YEARS ago! I had a low science GPA. I worked full-time in college to pay for school..and was a little less focused...and stressed!
I've been working at UMDNJ-Cancer Research for the past 4 years. Working here is a great with UMDNJ and RWJMS med schools!!-but, I gotta make the grades
I'm doing a post-back program in the fall. I'm sure I'll have to continue into a masters program. I was wondering...is it wise to work 40 hours a week and try taking do a post-bac program? I am more mature and stable (-finally), but I don't want to repeat the past...What should I consider with rearranging my life?
I applied to Drexel, U Penn, NYU, Hunter, CUNY, La Salle, Temple and Columbia..I've only heard a yes Drexel-PBMS and I'm still waiting on the others..( my applications were send in June- 2 weeks after I discovered these formal programs:) ).
I just need feed back about planning my life to pursue my goals..I'm willing to make the necessary sacrifices. I rent a room now and have the flexibility to move, but I'm won't have any $ support if I don't work. No home with parents to move back :)
How much time sould I realistically expect to go to school?
Is it wise to work 40 hrs a week or 20 hrs while doing a post-bac program?
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

How many classes are you planning to take? That's the first question.

It would be tough to work 40 hours/week with labs, etc.

oops! Only 2 classes..
My job is really burning me out, more work same pay! Hey-gotta be grateful, but willing to move on if necessary..I'm just having a hard time planning out the next few years.

Members don't see this ad :)
DCH said:
oops! Only 2 classes..