Post Bacc Advice, Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gb_18

Reaction score
Hey Everyone! I would greatly appreciate any advice on my premed situation and suggestions on completing a post bacc.

Here's my background: I graduated from WPI in May with a Bio/Biotech degree, 3.0 cGPA, 2.75 sGPA. There are couple reasons my GPA looks this way: financial stress paying for school, spending the first two years in ROTC (on avg 40 hours a week, tried to get a scholarship to help with the financial burden, though was eventually medically disqualified), and purposefully failing classes thinking it was helping my GPA because fails "don't count" at WPI. My senior year I got a 3.56 and a 3.95 in the final semesters (with more advanced classes) and am looking to continue this trend. I am applying to a few formal post baccs, but am leaning towards taking a years worth of classes at UNH and choosing my own schedule since it is considerably cheaper. I'm currently studying for the MCAT and I hope to start next fall.

Here are my extra curriculars, just to add context: volunteer EMT (2 years, almost Advanced EMT), teaching assistant in EMT class (1 year), Chief of WPI EMS (1 year), clinical research assistant at UMass for my senior project (though seriously impacted by COVID, only got to shadow in the ER one shift), and currently working as a medical lab tech, primarily testing COVID samples and working in microbiology.