Post-Bacc or SMP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CJ_keys93

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am a non-traditional pre-med student who is having a hard time deciding whether a post bacc or SMP would be best for my specific situation. I have been reading through the forums and most of what I'm finding are students who have an undergraduate degree in a science related field which does not apply to me. I have a Bachelor's degree in music and I did not complete any necessary science prerequisites. However, I have started taking my science prerequisites online through a local community college. Thus far I have completed Biology I. I have an undergrad cumulative GPA of 3.2 (not including the biology course that I have just taken) and I have not taken the MCAT.

Thus far I have come across two different programs that I am interested in. The first is a Master's in Biomedical Science at Nova Southeastern University. Entrance requirements are one Biology class and one Chemistry class. According to the program coordinator, I would be able to complete the rest of my prerequisites during the program while I am taking other courses that will satisfy degree requirements. There is also an MCAT prep course and other resources to help with med school interviews that are integrated into the program. It sounds like a great program but I'm not sure if it would be worth the risk as I know SMPs are expensive and challenging and can make or break you as far as getting into med school if you don't do exceptionally well. Since I haven't had much experience in the sciences, I'm hesitant to pursue this option. Despite my reservations, Nova is the school I am wanting to apply to for med school. So if I do well, it might be a great way to get accepted into their DO program.