Postbac is Way Harder Than Expected

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medschool129

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I go to a highly ranked formal post-bac. I have a doctorate degree and a near 4.0 GPA before I came here. I also got A's in both of the gen chem summer courses here. That said, this program has been incredibly tough for me. I failed two of my first round exams in the fall semester, and I feel all of my classes are competing for my time.

It's been a struggle studying for an exam while also having a lab report due the following day. Even though I'm putting the time in, I feel everything is rushed. And when exams require such precision, especially in orgo, it's easy for me to get flustered after cramming. I really need this program to work out for me. I put a lot on the line coming here and left a six figure job to do this. Dropping out would honestly be incredibly embarrassing. On top of that, I still really want to be a doctor. I really can't see myself not following this path now, but I'm really worried about my grades.

Does anyone have any advice, or is this just what post bac students feel during the fall semester? I also feel pretty isolated and miserable. All I do is study for 12-16 hours every day. The people here are really nice, but I never have time to do anything fun. I know it's only 6 more months and that the reward will be actually being in med school very soon. But this is not the experience I expected and, in my opinion, makes a lot of grad school programs look extremely easy in comparison.

Members don't see this ad.

• Wow
Reactions: 2 users