Postbac: Start a part-time job making $60/hr in an unrelated field, or $15/hr in medical field?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j_diggity

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all.

I’m broke and I need money, and have some credit card debt to pay off. I can only work part-time. I’m trying to decide whether to go back to my old career as a software engineer for something like $40-60 an hour, which would be game changing, or whether to work as an ER tech or research assistant for something much more lousy like $15 an hour.

Background: I’m a 30M non-trad premed postbac. Currently doing very well, sitting at a 3.98 sGPA with one year left of prereqs including orgo, biochem, and cell bio. My cumulative GPA will be around 3.63 though because my undergrad was a 3.52 with a downward trend because I got lazy and was studying business and they don’t care about grades as much.

• No MCAT yet.
  • I have no research experience period.
  • Clinical hours: currently hospital volunteering 3 hours a week, so I’m on track to have 150-200 by the time I apply, however have considered adding on a second hospital shift, which should get me to 300-400 by the time I apply. Thoughts appreciated on this.
  • I worked for 6 years as a software engineer increasing in scope and responsibility over time.
  • No recent leadership but in undergrad I was president of two clubs. This was 7 years ago.
  • 2 red flags for criminal activity that took place respectively 9 and 14 years prior to when I’ll apply. Was being young and dumb smoking weed and got caught twice. Been told by advisors that this won’t kill my chances but that some schools will likely filter me out, though if the rest of my app is good I should have a strong chance of getting at least one A.

I don't think my ECs are that great so I'm anxious about that, but tell me if I'm wrong here. I really want to avoid reapplying if at all possible due to my age.