postbacc grades?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MD831

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I graduated last May and took this year off while I applied to medical schools. I ended up getting three interviews--2 of which I still have yet to hear from (WLed at the other). However, given my low GPA, I wanted to look at some contingency plans in case I was not accepted this cycle.

My application overall is generally pretty strong from my letters to my extracurriculars. With a low GPA, the most logical remedy would be to take classes over the summer/coming year or to enter into a 1-year post bacc program. However, since application season begins in a few months, those grades would not be available until much later.

How does that work? There seem to be so many programs that are designed specifically for students who want to raise their GPA. Do these students apply before they've started the program?

I've been sending application updates and staying on top of my contacts with the school... I feel like my application would not be all that different if I reapplied...

Anyhow, if anyone has some insight, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks!

-------------------------
For reference:
Non-URM
science GPA: 3.24
nonscience GPA: 2.99
MCAT: 36Q

Members don't see this ad.

Congrats on the great MCAT, but that overall gpa is going to kill you at most schools. It's also the hardest thing to fix. Doing postbacc work, you'd need to do a whole other degree at 4.0, just to get it to 3.5.

So what do you do?
Another year of upper level ug courses would help.
The other option is a SMP.

This wouldn't help you at all for this cycle since you haven't done any of it yet. You could look into programs that have linkage. If you qualify, that would save you having another gap year.