AlexBL94

2+ Year Member
Nov 20, 2016
Los Angeles, CA
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hey Guys,

So real quick background:

I'm a non-trad veteran, will be finishing the last of my pre-reqs this Spring and have been planning to submit for verification in early June, take the MCAT mid-June, and add all of my schools once my MCAT score comes back in mid-July.

Well, the 2019 Testing Calendar just came out and the only date in mid-June is on a Saturday and I observe Sabbath on Saturdays (Orthodox Jew), so I can't take the exam that date.

So essentially, that leaves me with 2 options: Take the exam on May 31, sacrifice two weeks of study time, but be able to complete my primary two weeks earlier than planned. Or take the exam on June 29, have an extra two weeks to study, but won't be able to finish my primary until the very end of July.

I'm going to start studying over Winter break, so in either case I will have 4-6 months of studying under my belt.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

Last edited:

daw05

2+ Year Member
Jun 28, 2018
Status
Medical Student
To be clear, you can complete your primary for verification without having done your MCAT. You won't get secondaries from schools until that score is in, but you can be in the first wave for verification (submission the first week of June).

That said, I agree with above, take it in May.

About the Ads

AlexBL94

2+ Year Member
Nov 20, 2016
Los Angeles, CA
Status
Thanks for the replies guys! Just noticed I had a typo. I can either take it May 31 or JUNE 29, not July. Either way, I'm sure your advice still stands and I appreciate it.

Aug 30, 2018
Take it in May. Submit as early as possible (send in transcripts immediately, there's always a delay in this for some reason year after year)