Practice Case

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

For the case presented below, which of the following would be your surgical treatment of choice?

• Distal Metatarsal Osteotomy (Austin, Reverdin, etc) +/- Akin

Votes: 8 50.0%
  • 1st MTPJ fusion

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Lapidus

Votes: 8 50.0%

• Total voters

ldsrmdude

Podiatrist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So if you're like me when I was a student, you need a little break from studying sometimes. Since I have a case like this coming up, I figured I would try to post something somewhat educational and try to stimulate a little discussion here. To start off, if any students want to just read the x-rays, tell us what you see and if you feel inclined, list off some angles and what they mean. Then we can move on to what options we have for non-surgical treatment followed by surgical treatment. Once we go over that, we can open it up to residents/attendings if they want to discuss pearls, hints, tips, their favorite technique, etc. This will only work with some participation on your part.

Yes, the x-rays are crappy and no, they aren't mine. Get used to looking at crappy x-rays, you'll have them in real life and also on your board exams. Feel free to ask questions as if you're examining the patient and I'll answer them when I have a chance to post. This can basically be seen as a practice oral board exam question if you want, even though we no longer have those.

The case:
This is a 35-year old female who presents to you complaining of pain around the right big toe joint. It hurts more in tight shoes. It started a few years ago but seems to be getting worse over time. She has noticed a "bump" on the side of her foot that is making it hard to wear the shoes she wants.

GO

Bunion-Met-adductus.png
4f7aeecba17927b11f702401020bb4_jumbo.jpg

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Normal angles should be: for HVA <15 and for IMA <9