practicing in florida

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mullerian

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How realistic is it (financially) to be practicing OB in florida? I'm a 3rd year student who is interested in returning to florida after med school, and I've heard that malpractice alone in florida is like $250K. :eek: All the residents I've worked with on my rotation have basically told me that if I want to return to florida, OB is not the way to go. This has been really disturbing. Any thoughts or experiences with fl?

Members don't see this ad.

Definitely a hard place to have a private practice OB unless you can work at a med school and get them to foot the malpractice bill. Most OBGYNs in Florida, esp South Florida, have no insurance. In fact, I havent run into one who still does OB that carried insurance. There are many docs that are either moving to other states or stopping OB altogether. It's pretty risky if you ask me. I went to medical school at Nova, am doing a rotating internship at Palmetto General in Miami, and applying to OB programs back in TN, SC, NC, and others. I am applying to Jackson as well. Im sure you must have family here since you said you were from this area. That makes a differenceif you ask me. All of my and my wife's family are back in SC and TN. More than likely, we will move out of Florida back to one of those areas. Good Luck to you. You'll do great wherever you are.

Please don't let people discourage you from going into OB/Gyn if you want to practice in Florida. It is true that most OBs (if not all) who are practicing in South Florida do so without insurance, but they are very happy and still have very busy and lucrative practices. I would encourage you to speak with some private physicians in the area to get an idea of what their day is like, and how the insurance disaster in S. Florida has affected their practices.

Members don't see this ad :)