Pre-Dental, Thinking About Switching Over, Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AddHood

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a pre-dental student. After learning more and more that Dental schools are harder to get into than most medical schools, I have started considering switching to pre-med. I only have a 3.0 gpa and have not taken the DAT or MCAT yet. If I would go to medical school, there is an extra biology class I would have to take along with 2 other classes, which is fine.

What are people's thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently a pre-dental student. After learning more and more that Dental schools are harder to get into than most medical schools, I have started considering switching to pre-med. I only have a 3.0 gpa and have not taken the DAT or MCAT yet. If I would go to medical school, there is an extra biology class I would have to take along with 2 other classes, which is fine.

Stay dental, your GPA is too low.

Members don't see this ad :)

Switching to something because it's supposedly easier is a bad way to decide something that may change your life entirely.

Stay dental, your GPA is too low.
I was under the impression Dental Schools are more competitive to get into, due to the ratio of schools to prospective students. Is this incorrect?

I was under the impression Dental Schools are more competitive to get into, due to the ratio of schools to prospective students. Is this incorrect?
Look at the numbers, Medical school matriculants and applicants have higher GPAs. I am not sure what the percentage of ppl that apply to Dental school actually matricualte, but for med school its less than 44%.

You should check out the mean GPA of those matriculating med schools and those matriculating dental schools...and then you can decide if it's easier to get into med school.