Pre-dental to Pre-medical?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted980811

Hello,
I’m currently a 3rd year student and I’m in a tough spot as I plan to study and take either the DAT or MCAT this summer. I’ve been pre-dental since day one of college mainly attracted by the lifestyle and being able to make an impact by helping people improve their self image through there smile. As I went through undergrad I learned I want a career of meaning and want to use my abilities to make as big as an impact as possible, which makes me pretty much only want to be a fellowship trained OMFS, where I can do life changing face surgeries, whether it be for facial trauma, cleft lip, orthagnathic cases, or cancer resection and reconstruction. That being said, it sounds to me like I’d be better off just going into med school and shooting to be an ENT or plastic surgeon.

My main concerns at this point:
-I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but I have a pretty stellar dental application at the moment that I would hate out to waste. I have a 3.8 cGPA and a 3.77 sGPA, 200 volunteer hours through out of country service trips, volunteering at a senior center, and volunteering at an elementary school. I have served as Treasurer, VP, and will be president of my schools pre-dental organization. I have Co-founded and led an out of country dental mission club at my school. I have ~100 hours research and will be doing my own research next year in psychology and writing my honors thesis on it. And I have close to 100 shadow hours. BUT NO MEDICAL EXPERIENCE. I’m worried that being so heavily involved as a pre-dent will hurt my chances as a medical applicant.
-I’m worried ENT or Plastics may be too hard to match into vs if I went to a dental school known for specialization and went for oral surgery.