Pre Med issues

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NCDocWannabe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
During my first semester in collegeI was sexually assualted by fellow student, My older brother was killed in a car accident, and I was diagnosed with testicular cancer. (I am now Cancer Free thank god!!!) I'm still wondering what a guy has to do to have that kind of semester? Anyway, my grades took a huge hit. I essentially failed my first year. I have since taken a semester off and enrolled in a CC for this coming semester. I will hopefully transfer out this summer to NC State due to my AP credits. My questions are how do I explain this to med school adcoms and essentially are my chances for medical school admissions shot? I know that I am a capable student and I think with an amazing mcat, interview and personal statement a few top 20 schools may not be out of question. I just need insight on the CC issue, and explaining me leaving the school I was at. Which was a prestigious LAC in PA.

any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Well, it sounds like you're a smart guy, so as long as you work to get good grades to make up for a poor GPA first semester, it won't be a big of a problem. Mainly, I would just be honest with them. The events were a changing point in your life where you could have thrown in the towel or continued to work through everything. Congratulations on being Cancer free by the way bud, I know it's rough. I'll keep you in my prayers if that helps.

I think when you try to explain this it's important to remember you don't have to share anything that you're uncomfortable sharing. You can leave things out or be vague, and don't put it in a personal statement unless you think you can talk about it in an interview.