Pre-med student interested in Millitary Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorPardi

In Memory of Riley Jane
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior in my undergrad degree in biology currently and I am planning on going to medical school.

I have a 3.7 GPA, volunteer work, research, I have no idea what I will make on the MCAT. So I am just concerned with getting into medical school and want to know what everyone thinks about pursuing a millitary medical career so that I can get accepted into a millitary medical school.

Is that even an option? Are there millitary medical schools?

Members don't see this ad.

DoctorPardi said:
I am a junior in my undergrad degree in biology currently and I am planning on going to medical school.

I have a 3.7 GPA, volunteer work, research, I have no idea what I will make on the MCAT. So I am just concerned with getting into medical school and want to know what everyone thinks about pursuing a millitary medical career so that I can get accepted into a millitary medical school.

Is that even an option? Are there millitary medical schools?

option, yes....................and there is a military medical school. You can read various entries from other military docs on this site; most all docs do not recommend military med at this time. Most students (having not been to the "front lines") do not want to hear that.

USAFdoc said:
option, yes....................and there is a military medical school. You can read various entries from other military docs on this site; most all docs do not recommend military med at this time. Most students (having not been to the "front lines") do not want to hear that.

Does this millitary medical school accept applicants at a higher rate than civilian schools?