Pre-med study abroad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

allinblue

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a current sophomore who's planning on doing study abroad for the upcoming fall semester (of my junior year). The program is at Tsinghua University in China, so all the coursework will be in Chinese. I probably won't get any course credit counted towards my major but I will have the opportunity to take some humanities classes (Chinese politics, literature, etc).

By the end of soph year I will have finished with all my premed classes (orgo, bio, chem, phys, and labs), but if I study abroad I won't have the chance to take many higher level bio courses such as biochem before I start applying to medical school. In addition, I would also be interrupting many of the research and volunteering things I'm involved with on campus right now for a semester.

Would it still be a good idea to study abroad? Apart it from being a unique experience to talk about, what are some potential benefits or drawbacks to going abroad for a semester?

Members don't see this ad.

I say go for it under two conditions: you have the funds and it won't mess with your graduation requirements, aka when you graduate. Not studying abroad is my #1 regret of college. You've taken your pre-reqs and you can always take those extra bio classes your senior year after you've applied. You should be able to pick up volunteering when you get back. Is your PI ok with you leaving for a semester?

It will do nothing but help you, assuming you get good grades. Applicants with upper level science courses are a dime a dozen. Applicatns with abroad experience are like a precious jewel in the ad coms eyes. Trust me. Think about it this way, when you are 80 years old and talking to your grandchildren, how would you like to describe your junior year. As an exciting aborad adventure:) or a monontous journey into cellular Biology:(