Pre-post bacc advice? (music major)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spartyflyer

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN-

I'm a senior about to enter my last semester of undergrad. I'm a piano performance major at a Big 10 university. I want to maximize my chances at getting into one of the top post-bacc programs, and any advice would be appreciated.

I anticipate graduating with a 3.9 GPA, although I transferred after my first year, and my GPA in my first year was 3.54, mainly due to a nasty ear training/aural skills class. I've had a great run in undergrad, including two formal study abroad experiences for music in Italy, one festival in Poland, and winning my school's concerto competition (against several doctoral students,) amidst many gratifying performances and collaborative experiences. I'm an instrument-rated private pilot and on the e-board (VP) for a university aviation club.

I am taking next year off to improve my resume with volunteering, shadowing, taking a few math and non-core science classes, and attempting to somehow integrate music and medicine in my volunteering. I plan to apply in the fall of next year.

A big weakness is that I currently have no volunteer experience. I am beginning to volunteer starting next semester, and plan to have ~150 hours by the time I apply to post baccs.

Does this plan seem sound? I would like to apply to JHU, Goucher, Bryn Mawr, etc.

Members don't see this ad.

Why do you want to be a doctor?

Why do you want to be a doctor?

Hi Gurby,

I'm obviously at the beginning of this journey, and I'm sure my thoughts will develop as I have more experiences.