Prepping for MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docss26

Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So im a freshman in college and a lot of pre meds have told me that its never too early to start prepping for the mcat.

So i go into barns and noble today and check out some mcat prep books and man i didnt know what the hell i was looking at. How do u prepare for stuff youve never learned before? I know ill eventually get to it, but what r your recommendations on how i can start to prep for it?

Thanks
:thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

doc ss 26 said:
So im a freshman in college and a lot of pre meds have told me that its never too early to start prepping for the mcat.

So i go into barns and noble today and check out some mcat prep books and man i didnt know what the hell i was looking at. How do u prepare for stuff youve never learned before? I know ill eventually get to it, but what r your recommendations on how i can start to prep for it?

Thanks

The section that is most difficult to study for in a short amount of time is the verbal section. The sciences you will learn in classes and then study hard before the test, but verbal can be difficult for many science majors. It is a good idea to start reading a lot of material (boring stuff especially) and critically analyzing it. You can maybe pick up an MCAT prep book for the verbal section and do some of those exams so you get a feel for the material early, or you can just read journals and thoughty-newspapers.

chandelantern said: