gracietiger

10+ Year Member
Apr 9, 2009
Status
Pre-Veterinary
Figuring out how to complete the prereqs completely overwhelms me.

Briefly, I graduated from prestigious college in '05, environmental studies and philosophy majors, took intro bio and intro chem, received a C and B-s in both. Also took stats and calc, received a B in stats and a B+ (maybe A-? can't remember) in calc from community college. Overall GPA ended up being around a 3.3. At the time, I was set on law school, didn't invest in science.

After graduating, messed around by doing everything but vet med. Moved all over the country, traveled the world, worked as an adventure guide. So I don't have a great deal of veterinary experience either, on top of not good grades. I worked as a zookeeper for over a year, and did a lot of conservation work, but the only straight up vet experience I have is what I have gotten in the last year at an internship.

I am completing the prereqs, and work full time for the university where I complete the prereqs to be able to afford them. My job is not related to animals at all, though it includes research. It is flexible with me so that I can take the classes whenever I need to during the day, which is why I have to keep it.

I have retaken chem, and have completed organic and physics. I have gotten A+s in all classes. Still though, my overall GPA and especially science GPA is going to be seriously hurting. My boyfriend is going to Penn Dental school and I need to be nearer to my home in MD because of a terminally parent, so Penn is my only option. Which is seriously ridiculous considering my previous grades.

To make things even more complicated, the intro bio course has been very difficult for me to get into. So I have not been able to take more than two courses per semester, if that, because all of the other courses require bio. I think I'll finally be able to get in this quarter, but I have nothing else to take with it that I haven't already.