Prerequisite set-up

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mixed Breed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I would like to begin completing my prerequisite courses in January 2012. With that being said, I have a B.A. in Political Science and have only taken Calculus I as an undergraduate. I graduated in 2008. I'd like to know which courses I should take in January. I've been out of school for a while, so I think I'd prefer to take some of the easier courses first to build me back up into school mode.

Any suggestions? I also want to complete my prerequisites ASAP. I am almost 26 years old. I'm thinking of supplementing my course work by working in a PT clinic so that I can gain experience and money, too. I will be living at home for a few years which helps on the financial front.

Members don't see this ad.

How many semesters are you trying to spend completing them? If you're trying to ease into it, I'd start with...
Spring '12: Bio I, Physics I, General Psych
Summer '12: Physics II, Stats
Fall '12: Chem I, Microbio (or Bio II or Cell Bio), Anatomy
Spring '13: Chem II, Physiology, Abnormal (or Developmental) Psych

Just an idea...don't start with too many science classes with labs. Start with 1 or 2 and psych or stats. And if you're going to take class over summer, remember they are usually condensed, so don't take 2 lab classes (unless you can devote a lot of time to them, i.e. you're not working)

I agree with what the first poster said...depending on your time, you probably don't want to overdo it with science labs unless you really have the time to put into it.