Prerequisites Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TOMWALK

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, everyone. I'm a newbie on SDN, so please be kind. :)

I'm a nontraditional student beginning the rest of my prerequisites at a local college campus. Beyond the basic core prereqs. (Chem, Organic Chem, Physics, etc.) I was wondering what other people have decided to take, if anything. Below is a list of what this college offers. Any advice would be much appreciated.

BIOLOGY CORE:
BIOL 121/116 ______ Biology I: Diversity, Ecology and -- TAKEN
Behavior and Lab
BIOL 131/118 ______ Biology II: Development, Structure -- TAKEN
and Function and Lab
BIOL 231/232 ______ Biology III: Cell Structure and -- WILL TAKE
Function and Lab
BIOL 241/242 ______ Biology IV: Genetics and -- WILL TAKE
Molecular Biology and Lab

Molecular & Cellular
BIOL 322/323 _____ Microbiology & Lab
BIOL 409 _____ Immunobiology & Lab
BIOL 415 _____ Molecular Biology & Lab
BIOL 417 _____ Biotechnology & Lab
BIOL 423 _____ Physical Principles of Biological Chemistry
BIOL 433 _____ Population Genetics
BIOL 533 _____ Medical Microbiology & Lab

Structure & Function:
BIOL 213/214 _____ Human Anatomy & Physiology (1 yr sequence w/ labs)
BIOL 404 _____ Gross Anatomy/Cadaver Dissection
BIOL 410 _____ Human Physiology
BIOL 513 _____ Functional Human Anatomy

Chemistry
CHM 321 _____ Analytical Chemistry
CHM 333 _____ Biochemistry
CHM 420 _____ Lab in Molecular Biochemistry

Members don't see this ad.

Beyond the Biochem and the Genetics/Molecular Bio, I wouldn't take any more courses. Are you taking more because your GPA is low or because you want to impress? If your GPA is low, consider re-taking some older classes with a C. If you want to impress, forget it. There's no point in gambling your GPA.