Problem planning after graduation (AND maybe a consultant)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WhittieStudenti

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently graduated from a pretty small liberal arts college out in Washington State (Whitman College) and would appreciate help planning my next move. I graduated with a pretty abysmal 3.141 GPA, plenty of experience volunteering in local clinics and hospitals and having a charity event surrounding Providence St. Mary's Hospital under my belt. But after about 5 months after coming out of college, I still have a problem formulating a concrete plan of what activities, job and decisions that would effectively push me onto a course into medical school. Right now I have landed a case-research unpaid internship at Panel of Consultants (an IME panel based out of Seattle), have 2 shadowing gigs with Seattle Children's/Overlake Hospital and am interviewing for a volunteering position at the Pike Place Neighborcare Health Clinic. I know practically every SMP listed through the AAMC and SDN website but am cautious about committing to any program at the moment ($50,000 is alot of money). University of Washington and Seattle University is right next door so taking classes isn't out of the way. I have no intentions of applying anytime soon (maybe 2019-2020 class). What is everyone's thoughts on taking an SMP over classes? Will medical schools frown upon repeating courses at a different college to boost GPA or is SMP the only legitimate way override a previous record? Any other possible recommendations?